Call 0867227014, 0318115749 or WhatsApp 0825507946 for more detail!

Become Accredited?

Become SETA Accredited Training Provider in South Africa

About the ETQA’s process to become SETA Accredited Training Provider:

Training providers in South Africa must apply for SETA Accreditation with an Education and Training Quality Assurance (ETQA) body under the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) through the different SETA bodies.

SETA Accredited Training Providers has to offer unit standards and/or qualifications that fall within the primary focus area of the ETQA body of the relevant Sector Education and Training Authority – SETA or professional body. They also have to be registered with the DHET (since 1 July 2017)

Requirements to become a SETA Accredited Training Provider:

The document Criteria and Guidelines to become a SETA Accredited Training Provider sets out the requirements for accreditation.

  • The programmes (and/or assessments) offered by the education and training provider must culminate in unit standards and/or qualifications registered on the National Qualifications Framework (NQF).
  • The curriculum (design, content and learning materials) is aligned to the unit standards and/or qualifications.
  • There are suitably qualified staff (facilitators and registered assessors).
  • The learners have access to adequate learning support services.
  • The assessment methods and tools used to measure the requirements for the unit standard and/or qualification are fair, valid and reliable, and are used to enhance learning.

The main steps in the accreditation process to become a SETA Accredited Training Provider:

  1. The Training Provider determines primary focus
  2. The SETA Quality Assurance Management Division requirements are compiled by the provider
  3. The Training Provider completes and submits an online application form for accreditation
  4. A compliance check is conducted by SETA and the provider receives a notification of compliance / non-compliance
  5. The Training Provider responds to the notification if necessary
  6. A site visit is scheduled and conducted by a SETA ETQA evaluator
  7. The evaluator sends his/her report to SETA
  8. The evaluation report is quality assured and the report indicating the status of accreditation is sent to the provider. Where applicable, areas of remediation will be detailed in the report.
  9. The Training Provider is required to respond to areas of remediation if necessary, and make the relevant submission.
  10. Confirm registration with the DHET>

Let us know if you interested in becoming a SETA Accredited Training Provider and we will contact you back!

Accreditation Queries
  •   The Eastern Cape
      The Free State
      The Northern Cape
      North West
  •   I do not have accredited trainers
      I do not have accredited assessors
      I do not have accredited moderators
      I do not have accredited programmes and need help
      Need help to become SETA accredited training provider
      Need help to become QCTO accredited training provider
      Need help to register with DHET as a Private Training Provider
      I want to purchase off the shelf SETA material
      I want to purchase off the shelf short courses
      I need someone to develop something for me
      CETA (Construction SETA)
      CHIETA (Chemical Industries SETA)
      CATHSETA (Culture Arts. Tourism. Hospitality and Sports SETA)
      ESETA (Energy and Water SETA)
      ETDPSETA (Education Training and Development Practices SETA)
      FPMSETA (Fibre. Processing & Manufacturing SETA)
      FOODBEV (Food and Beverage Manufacturing Industry SETA)
      FASSET SETA (Financial and Accounting Services SETA)
      HWSETA (Health and Welfare SETA)
      INSETA (Insurance SETA)
      LGSETA (Local Government SETA)
      MERSETA (Media. Advertising. Information and Communication Technologies SETA)
      MICTSETA (Manufacturing. Engineering and Related Services SETA)
      MQSETA (Mining Qualifications Authority SETA)
      PSETA (Public Service SETA)
      SASSETA (Safety and Security SETA)
      TETA (Transport SETA)
      W&RSETA (Wholesale and Retail SETA)

SETA Accreditation is defined in the ETQA Regulations as

The certification, usually for a particular period of time, of a person, a body or an institution as having the capacity to fulfill a particular function in the quality assurance system set up by the South African Qualifications authority in terms of the Act

There are Education Training Quality Assurance bodies (ETQAs) in different sectors responsible for the accreditation of providers. Training providers would be accredited by one ETQA on the basis of primary focus. The provider would need to decide which ETQA sector the provider falls within and then which are the NQF standards or qualifications that it wishes to provide. The ETQAs have specific provider accreditation criteria that have to be met.

A provider wishing to offer a full qualification or part of a qualification should firstly identify the primary focus ETQA to which it belongs and the qualification/s and the associated unit standards that are registered on the National Qualifications Framework (NQF quality assured by that ETQA. The qualification/s will list the quality assuring body responsible for the quality assurance of the qualification/s and the associated unit standards.

The provider would be required to contact its primary focus ETQA in order to start the provider accreditation process.